Please note: The forum is now closed to new submissions. All the existing forum topics and posts are still available, however new topics cannot be created. If you need Sinclair C5 advice please use the C5 Owners Facebook Group.

tors2704 posted:

Hello,

I'm considering selling my C5 and am wanting to find out some information on how early in the production run it may have been. The serial number is V100050201189.

I am not an expert by any means but assume that, the earlier the model/lower the serial number, the more it may be worth. Would this be considered to be an early model?

I'm attempting to put a picture of it on here if this helps.

Any information is appreciated, including what you think it may be worth with all of the boxed accessories (has not been tested - been in storage for about 18 years but is in good cosmetic condition and worked perfectly when entering storage).

Thanks,
tors2704
posted on: 04/08/2013 15:56:20

Dan posted:

Hi and welcome to the forum!

To answer your main question about the serial number, V100050201189.

This is how you break it down: V1000 5 02 01189
The 5 indicates the year 1985
The following 2 digits are the month, February
And the final 5 digits indicate the number produced that month, so yours is the 1189th to come off the production line in Feb 1985.

The earliest I've seen is from Dec 1984.  I wouldn't consider it to be a very early model, but it is reasonably early as it has the Grey boot rather than the later White ones.

A similar working one with boxed indicators, mirrors, horn, mud flaps, side panels, original documentation recently sold on ebay for about £500 in Hampshire.  Can you list what accessories you have? I can see indicators, mirrors, horn?

Location also affects the value, as C5s need to be collected in person.
posted on: 04/08/2013 16:37:07

tors2704 posted: